Auto Accident FAQ
Frequently Asked QuestionsCall Us Now (813) 759-1224
Click on the questions to view the answers.
Go to the doctor or hospital. Do not be hesitant to have the police call an ambulance if you have been hurt. If you do not go to the hospital, get checked out by a doctor as soon as possible after the accident. The onset of many injuries is delayed with symptoms occurring only days or weeks later.
The first priority is always getting the best medical care. Once that is assured, call an attorney to protect your rights.
You should not discuss the specifics of how the accident happened or the extent of your injuries until you have first contacted an attorney to represent your interests. If you are called by the other driver’s insurance adjuster remember that insurance adjusters are well versed in auto accident law and you very likely need an attorney at law on your side who is equally well versed in Florida no fault insurance law to give you advice on how to handle the insurance adjusters.
NOTHING. Take advantage of the free case evaluation from the attorneys at Byrd & Barnhill who represent auto accident victims on a contingent fee basis - which means that there are NO up front fees or costs. You pay nothing to the attorneys unless they obtain a recovery for you. So, there are no fees or cost unless you win.
No. The worst mistake you can make is failing to promptly call an attorney to take your side in this complex area of the law that can make a huge difference in your life going forward.
The attorneys at Byrd & Barnhill will review the facts of your accident and present you with your options. If you have a valid claim we will present it to the at fault driver’s insurance company. If a settlement cannot be reached we will discuss the option of filing a lawsuit against the at fault parties. If a lawsuit is filed, your case may be referred to an attorney with recent jury trial experience at no additional costs to you.
You are entitled to full and fair compensation in money damages for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering and damage to your automobile. You are also entitled to compensation for future loss of earning capacity, future medical expenses and future pain and suffering.
PIP is your part of your insurance policy required by law in Florida and provides $10,000 of medical and disability coverage regardless of who caused the accident. So, your medical bills and other covered damages (such as lost wages and mileage to see the doctor) up to $10,000 will be paid by your own insurance PIP also pays mileage and 60% of your lost wages every two weeks upon submission. a policy with a PIP deductible. Your policy most likely covers a certain amount of medical bills regardless of fault. There are some complex rules that will allow you to maximize the use of these overages. So, call us at Byrd & Barnhill for a free evaluation of your case.
Florida law requires that the other party provide information regarding their liability insurance coverage. If the at fault has coverage for bodily injury and property damages, their insurance company will provide a defense to your claim and it takes a skilled personal injury attorney to make sure that the proper steps are taken to obtain the compensation to which you are entitled
In addition to PIP and MedPay your insurance company must offer you coverage for damages caused by drivers who do not have any liability insurance or who are underinsured. Thus, if you are injured by a driver without insurance or insurance that is too little to pay your damages, you own company will pick up the remainder of your damages up to the maximum amount of coverage you have purchased. issues.
Call the attorneys at Byrd & Barnhill for a free case evaluation.
We will refer your case to a jury trial lawyer who will file suit in your case for no additional fee. We will be paid a portion of the litigation attorney's contingent fee as a referral fee. However, the fee that you pay will not be more than the normal contingency fees paid pursuant to the rules regulating Florida lawyers.